Family

DITCH YOUR RESOLUTION?

WONKA

 

Yeah yeah, I know. But since yesterday was “Ditch Your New Year’s Resolution Day” and I managed to make it through that point, seemed as good a time as any to address my own. Simply put, my resolution is to be healthier. Trite, I’m aware. My goal is more than just physical health however…

 

Mental Health: I want to make a serious effort to de-stress. I’m highly wound and overly anxious by nature and it is something that I need to actively work to overcome. This year, if I can’t change a situation for the better then I need to just “let go and let God” as they say. Easier said than done, but that will be my goal.

Intellectual Health: I have become a slave to my smart phone and it’s making me stupid. This year I plan to spend less time in front of a screen and more time reading. I’m embarrassed to admit it but over the past decade I have basically become a non-reader. I would like to make the time to read at LEAST a dozen books this year and I’m already one in, so that’s a decent start. I’ve been out of the loop for a long time however, so if you have any great reading suggestions please send them my way!

Familial Health: Sometimes I’m afraid that I’m ruining my kids. Scratch that, of course I am. But I want 2016 to be the year that I get angry less and love more. My home is constantly in chaos but I think that’s just par for the course when you have 3 kids 3 and under. And I may not be able to eliminate the chaos, but I can control my reaction to it. Maybe, just maybe, if I can keep myself under control when the kid’s tempers flair they might model that behavior and do the same. Novel idea right? I also plan to actively work on my marriage. I’m lucky, I married a really great partner and friend…. But with our lives so busy we often don’t take the time to really connect. My poor husband watches the children full time, is taking a full course load of classes, and is simultaneously studying to take the CPA exam. He’s the busiest, most dedicated person I know and I owe it to him to offer more support, which is exactly what I plan to do.

Physical Health: Well, yes of COURSE this is a part of it too. I watched my mother die a slow and painful death from the complications related to diabetes. I don’t want that for myself or for my children. I’m taking it slow because I need to initiate a lifestyle change and not a diet, but so far so good. I’m back at the gym on a regular basis after an almost 3 year childbearing hiatus and I’m back to journaling my food and eating more whole, healthful selections. I feel less sluggish and have lost a couple LBs already so hooray!

Skin Health: I’m getting old and it’s showing. Whomp whomp. I know I can’t turn back time but I can at least take better care of what I’ve got.  More sunscreen, more religious use of moisturizer and dangit I have GOT to wash my face every night before I go to sleep. I don’t know why I find that so difficult but I just get lazy and ignore it until the next morning. That has to change.

Creative Health: Craft more and start to paint again. This one’s easy peasy to nail down.

 

Here’s to a fruitful and healthy 2016!

 

 

Leave a Reply

