Weirdness

THIRD-LIFE CRISIS

I’m having a third-life crisis. I don’t even know if that’s a thing, but I’m having it. I find myself getting weirder and weirder and my decision making getting more and more impulsive. I think my internal dialogue and anxieties can be best summed up by this venn diagram of memes:

MEME DIAGRAM

And my mind is playing tricks on me. It rationally tells me things like, “You know Elizabeth, if you get a haircut perhaps you will be better able to manage it, look more professional and feel more confidant”. Then it starts screaming crazy stuff like, “SO YEAH WHY DON’T YOU JUST GO GRAB THE SCISSORS AND GIVE IT A WHACK YOURSELF!”

HAIRCUT

Disclaimer: I used a few haircutting tutorials that I found on Pinterest and thankfully it didn’t turn out as a total disaster. Phew!

I think this “crisis” also has a fair amount to do with my recent quest to find and make natural body products. As you may know, I already started using DIY deodorant and I keep finding myself throwing out my commercial products and thinking that castile soap will magically replace them. The good news? So far castile soap HAS magically replaced them. I’ve started a no-poo hair washing regimen that I love (and will post about after I have been doing it for a bit longer), I’ve used it in lieu of shaving gel, and I even cleaned a big ole pile of toddler vomit out of our van’s upholstery with the stuff. It’s worth its weight in gold as far as I am concerned.

Now if only I can tackle my social anxiety, raise kids that aren’t terrible humans, routinely look presentable in public even as my face starts to melt into Droopy Dog’s, figure out who/what I want to be when I grow up, dodge cancer and get rich quick I’ll have it all together! Seems reasonable right?

Tell me I’m not alone in this. Anyone else who is thirty(ish) going through a pseudo-existential crisis?

5 thoughts on “THIRD-LIFE CRISIS

  1. I don’t have kids (so I can’t relate to that bit), but yes, I TOTALLY get how you feel. I wish I had something more helpful to day other than ‘I know that feel sis’, but I don’t. I’ll promise that if I figure out how to adult I’ll let you know, just please blog about it if you figure it out! Best wishes! Oh, your hair looks good!

  2. I’ve just got that in my, ahem, early forties. Cut all my hair off myself and went no-poo a month ago! (Blogged it!). Also no cleanser or moisturiser, and rarely deodorant. Where to go next?!

    1. I’d love to see your no-poo blog entry! I’m a bit of a dunce when it comes to searching through other blogs (how I’m STILL adjusting to wordpress’s format I don’t know… it’s embarrassing). Would you mind posting a link to that entry here?!

Leave a Reply

