DIY

DIY DEODORANT – A WEEK IN REVIEW

Last week I posted about my first experience with making DIY deodorant. I wore it all week…and a stressful week it was. I had work meetings, a road trip, birthday celebrations for my eldest kiddo, and then late last night my sweet 11 year old kitty had a stroke and had to be put down in the middle of the night.

Priscilla

(Ugh, I love and miss you Priscilla)

If ever a deodorant was going to fail me it would have been in these past seven days. And you know what?

This stuff KICKED BUTT through all of it.

In my initial post I kind of lamented the scent that I had made, but I have two things to say to that point. 1) the scent has actually really grown on me and 2) although you notice it initially… once applied the essential oil smell wears off quickly. While this might be a detraction for some people I actually found it to be favorable. I want to smell nice but I also don’t exactly want my pits to be off gassing a perfumey aroma all over everything. At the end of the day I can take my shirt off, smell the armpit area and it just smells clean. No BO, no oils, just… clean. So amazing. Even with my old commercial deodorant/antiperspirant my shirts were really stinky by the end of the day. It’s not like it was body odor or anything, but it smelled like old deodorant which is pretty nasty in my opinion.  Also, as stupid as it sounds my armpits are reaaaaally soft now from rubbing all of that coconut oil into them. I even forced my husband to pet them and see for himself. Bless him for putting up with my weirdness.

I have no intention of ever going back to conventional deodorant and antiperspirant. If you have been considering making your own deodorant I HIGHLY recommend it. In fact, tell me about your experiences! What scents and recipes have you used and enjoyed?

Leave a Reply

