Cooking

Christmas in September

Christmas is my favorite time of year. I love the decorations, the food, the stupid sweaters, the cookies, all of it! A few years ago it dawned on me that there is absolutely no reason why I shouldn’t be able to enjoy a little Christmas cheer anytime in the year and so over the past few summers it has become a bit of a ritual for some friends and I to crack out the movie Elf and feel a little Christmasy. This year we have decided to up the ante a bit. As I type, I am also in the process of making my favorite Christmas cookie ever… my mother’s gingerbread cookies. I.LOVE.THESE.THINGS. They are lighter and more delicious than any other gingerbread I have ever had and as an added bonus they always remind me of her and my childhood (she passed away a little over five years ago).

Below is her recipe. Please note that she must have mistyped it when she emailed it to me because the flour measurement is WAY OFF. I usually make the recipe according to her directions and then gradually add enough flour until the dough is a firm consistency (Otherwise you will be dog-cussing your rolling pin. Trust me). She also mentions using store bought icing but I find it just as easy to mix up some royal icing and lightly coat the cookies then add colored sugars or sprinkles. Enjoy!

1/2 C butter softened
1/2 C packed brown sugar
1  3 3/4 or 4 ounce package butterscotch pudding mix (not instant pudding)
1 egg
1 /2 C all purpose flour
1/2 tea baking soda
1 1/2 tea ground ginger
1/2 tea ground cinnamon
Cream butter, brown sugar and pudding mix.  Add egg, beaten well, Combine flour, baking soda, ginger and cinnamon.  Stir into creamed mixture and chill.
Roll part of chilled dough out on floured surface to 1/8 inch thickness.  Cut with 4″ gingerbread man cutter.  Place on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 6 to 8 minutes.  Remove from cookie sheet and cool.  Keep the cat away…not easy
Decorate with icing.  It’s just easiest to use the tubes you can get from the grocery store or get canned white frosting and decorate with sprinkles.
Leave a Reply

