Uncategorized

Welcoming in 2012

I don’t know about you, but I try to keep my New Years resolutions obtainable. Two years ago it was “improved penmanship”, last year it was a general “be more creative” and this year my goal is to make at least ONE article of clothing that I will not be embarrassed to wear (meaning properly fitted and professional looking). I have tried making simple circle skirts and a few other items before but they have always come out looking horrid. I either didn’t use a pattern, or rushed through it, or didn’t read the instructions all the way. For whatever the reason, clothing seems to be the one craft hurdle I have not been able to get over so far.

So in the vein of facing my demons head on, today I invested a little bit of time and a whole lot of money on the tools necessary to make my resolution a reality.

Image

I purchased a self healing cutting mat, a rotary cutter, a pattern which appears to be nothing more than “sewing for dummies”, and two super cute, whimsical fabrics to make skirts from. I decided to buy two fabrics so that if I ruined one, hopefully I could at least try again on the second one. But if all goes well, I will wind up with two super cute additions to my wardrobe!

By the way, if you live in the Nashville area today marks the beginning of Textile Fabric’s semi-annual sale! All fabric is 40% off through the end of the month. I know I will be making SEVERAL trips there in the coming weeks. It is honestly the best fabric store I have ever set foot in (I even love it more than G Street Fabrics up north. Although they have 20 times the fabric, they can’t compare to the awesome selection found at Textile Fabrics).

One thought on “Welcoming in 2012

Leave a Reply

