canning · Cooking · Garden

Harvest Time at the Schneider Farm

It is getting to be that time of the year where we have to suck it up and start cutting back and cleaning up our garden spaces. Since my garden is an overgrown mess, I have been afraid to even look at it for the past few weeks. Today though, I mustered up what little courage I had and started cutting back our rogue tomato and pepper plants. As you can see from the picture below, I had no idea what I was doing.

After I cut an area of vines out,  I would take them aside and strip them of their gardeny goodness. I was completely unaware of how much the plants were still producing…

So now we have this ridiculous harvest and I need to figure out something to do with all of it. I am a canning novice, but I have already started by making one jar of fermented green tomatoes and peppers using my Perfect Pickler, and as I type this I have three quarts of ripened tomatoes on the stove in my pressure cooker (YES, I know people like to water bath can tomatoes but now a’days tomatoes are not as acidic as they used to be and I would rather be safe than sorry). I feel I should point out that I have never used my pressure canner before and I am somewhat convinced that it is going to explode and kill me before this is over. If that is the case, it has been nice knowin’ ya!

Assuming I don’t die, I also plan to make fried green tomatoes and green tomato pickles tonight and/ or tomorrow but I would LOVE any recipes and/or suggestions that any of you might have for all of the left overs.

Leave a Reply

