Crafting

Halloween Y2K11

Howdee! I have been dramatically uninspired lately (hence the lack of posts) but I’ve got Halloween on the brain and that is putting me in much better head space.

Anyways, a couple of years ago I decided I was done with store bought Halloween costumes. They are expensive, boring, and 99% of the time if they are designed for a female… they are slutty beyond belief. Sexy school girl, sexy nurse, sexy Harry Potter, SEXY CLOWN. I don’t think so. So in 2009 I designed and created my first homemade Halloween costume. I really enjoy out of date references so I decided to go as Bjork in the swan dress. Most people got it, and those that didn’t just looked amazingly perplexed. I’ll call that a win in my book.

I was pleased with the result and honestly I was a little bit afraid that I would not be able to top it in 2010. Thankfully I started brainstorming early and came up with one of the most ridiculous ideas ever. I was going to be a squirrel.

For this costume I made the head, tail/outfit and (thanks to a suggestion made by my mother-in-law) an acorn purse complete with a hinged top to keep my personal effects in. It was magnificent. Maybe not as magnificent as that girl’s booty hanging out in the background of this picture (see what I’m saying about slutty costumes??!?!?) but pretty darn great.

So now I find myself in 2011. What am I going to do this year? Well, let’s just say my somewhat dated references are back in full effect…

I’ll keep you posted on how things progress!

7 thoughts on “Halloween Y2K11

  1. I am excited to see what happens! I am having a party on Oct 29th and it’s a FULL ON costume bash complete with fully decorated domicile… food, beer, all kinds of awesome homemade and kickass props to make for a spooky, awesome evening. I hope you guys can come!! (I know you may already have something going on but I am excited anyway!) haha

Leave a Reply

