Crafting

Constructively Dealing with a Plague

As many of you are painfully aware, this summer marks the return of the 13 year emergence cicadas. They are loud, obnoxious, and they keep getting stuck in my hair. I’m starting to take it personally.

I’ve decided that it is pointless to let them upset me (because really, what can I do about it?!) and that rather than stand outside and scream at them, I should use my energy more constructively. On that note, I have started to create jewelry from their remains. More specifically, I have been collecting their wings as I find them and setting them into jewelry bezels with resin. Although I suppose it doesn’t really matter, I do want to point out that I haven’t ripped any of these wings off of any of the little dead bodies that cover the ground. I just wait until I see a lone wing floating in the breeze or laying on the sidewalk and then I collect it.

Below are some examples of what I have made. I will be selling them and some other crafts at the Center of Symmetry later this month during their Moonlight Festival. For those who have never been, it is touted as Nashville’s bimonthly “metaphysical fair” and they always have great vendors and free workshops. Honestly, before I ever went to one I wasn’t so sure about it being something that I would be into but I have had a blast each time I have attended. This fair’s theme is Forests and Faeries so you are bound to have some whimsical fun. Please come out to see us June 24th!

Cicada Wing Necklace

Cicada Wing Bracelet

5 thoughts on “Constructively Dealing with a Plague

      1. Im sure they will. Especialy if you design elegant Logo cards to go with them. Best of luck to you. Im kinda doing the same thing for the first time also but with paintings. Just starting the shop now, in fact. 🙂

  1. Im hoping to on my next post. Thats why my blog is on a temporary vacation while I get things set up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

