Garden

The Beast

So, about a month and a half ago we decided to move our composter to a less conspicuous spot in our back yard. I moved its contents to the back of our property so we could start fresh in the new location (we had not been composting “correctly”… more on that in a future post) and while doing so I found what I lovingly refer to as The Beast growing inside.

At that stage The Beast was nothing more than a cluster of seeds about the size of my fist with approximately 40-50 shoots coming out of it. I wasn’t sure what kind of plant it was, but as I have had several friends successfully transplant compost volunteers into their gardens I figured I would plant it and see what happened. I fully expected it to die given that conventional wisdom would suggest that we needed to thin out the seedlings (which I didn’t) but The Beast has defied all logic…

It is somewhat difficult to get a sense of the scale of the plant from this picture but it is approximately 4 to 5 feet around and some of the larger leaves are easily 8 to 10 inches across. It is mammoth and it just keeps growing. We finally decided to let it spread beyond the confines of our raised bed and do as it pleased. It has been fine without our intervention so far so I figure the less that we meddle, the better. Initially we thought that it might be a melon of some sort but as it continues to mature I am more convinced that it is actually a squash plant. There are close to a dozen fruit already forming and countless flowers right behind them ready to produce even more.

If you are an experienced gardener and can identify it for me I would love to know!

6 thoughts on “The Beast

  1. Yes, that is MOST DEFINITELY a squash plant. It seems that they, much like cucumbers, tend to thrive on neglect. I planted squash in the front patch last year and it just went bonkers. We had to keep purchasing little fence-type barriers, in an attempt to keep the squash from taking over the little walk from the driveway to the front steps. You’ll need to tuck a few leaves back away from the squash as they mature, just to make sure they get some more sun. That’s how they’ll develop the darker yellow color. Otherwise, they’ll be a pale yellow.

  2. Thats a big squash monster. I imagine it would realy get out of hand if you ever watered it on purpose.

Leave a Reply

